The Foundation

Read in ItalianRead in Swedish

The Foundation Blanceflor Boncompagni Ludovisi, née Bildt (we commonly use the abbreviation The Foundation Blanceflor) was constituted with a modest sum in 1955 by Princess Blanceflor Boncompagni Ludovisi. After Blanceflor’s decease in 1972 The Foundation was seeded with resources from trusts in the USA and certain belongings in Switzerland and Sweden, all together allowing a larger number of scholarships with more substantial grants. The Foundation has since it started handed out more than 100 million SEK, without consideration to the monetary value.

The Board

The Foundation Blanceflor has a slim organisation with four members in the Board and one part-time employee for administration. Three of the members are nominated by the presidents from three universities: KI Karolinska Institutet, KTH Royal Institute of Technology and Stockholm University. The fourth member represent the family Bildt (Blanceflor was born Bildt). The Board has two meetings per year, taking decisions on the scholarships.

The present Board is constituted by: President Prof. Anders Flodström (KTH), Prof. Maria Masucci (KI) and Prof. Henrik Cederquist (Stockholm University) together with Lars Bildt (family representative and the administrator of The Foundation Blanceflor).